I am a Science Daily Junkie….I admit. They keep everything up to the minute on health and nutrition, on the brain and exercise. A lot to look at and keep me occupied with when I should be working. Anyways, I thought I would share today’s interesting finds…ps- I am also a health magazine junkie…are you? Such a waste of money as I do not agree with ANYTHING in them because it is all bogus and wrong and not backed up by any appreciable supported science. I think I read them to get angry and pissed off hahaha.

 These kinds of headlines make me snicker (no pun on the snicker’s commercial) because I think they are bullshit:

 TV Food Advertisements Promote Imbalanced Diets, Study Finds

Making food choices based on television advertising results in a very imbalanced diet according to a new study comparing the nutritional content of food choices influenced by television to nutritional guidelines published in the June issue of the Journal of the American Dietetic Association.” http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/06/100601072514.htm

  This kind I find intriguing, mostly because I do think there is a HUGE link between gut flora and health/wellness/weight:

 Understanding the Relationship Between Bacteria and Obesity

“Research sheds new light on the role bacteria in the digestive tract may play in obesity. The studies, which were presented at the 110th General Meeting of the American Society for Microbiology, paint a picture that may be more complex than originally thought. The researchers found a positive correlation between the population of one specific type of bacteria, Bacteroidetes, and body fat percentage in the participants.”

 http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/05/100526141845.htm

 This just makes me more adamant to continue inhaling raw cheese, butter, raw goat yogurt, FAGE, and the sort of likeness:

 Milk: Two Glasses a Day Tones Muscles, Keeps the Fat Away in Women, Study Shows

Women who drink two large glasses of milk a day after their weight-lifting routine gained more muscle and lost more fat compared to women who drank sugar-based energy drinks, a McMaster study has found. The health benefits of resistance training are enormous: It boosts strength, bone, muscular and metabolic health in a way that other types of exercise cannot.”

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/05/100526141854.htm

 No, I don’t exercise, but hey, that shit’s way over rated anyways. Cardio does nothing for weight, and lifting only promotes muscle and bone health, not weight loss. I think the core of exercising for ANYONE, should be mental well being and NOT in an I-have-to-do-this-and-burn-this kind of way either.

 And for shits-n-giggles, I find these “SUPER POWER” ingredient headlines make me almost pee in my pants. Really, its food, its not some miracle- now go inhale all the cayenne peppers you can find:

 New Evidence That Chili Pepper Ingredient Fights Fat

 Scientists are reporting new evidence that capsaicin, the stuff that gives chili peppers their kick, may cause weight loss and fight fat buildup by triggering certain beneficial protein changes in the body. Their study, which could lead to new treatments for obesity, appears in ACS’ monthly Journal of Proteome Research.”

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/06/100602121202.htm

 I read “Bad science breeds diet mythology” this week somewhere and that is ever-so-true.

 On another note, I now own a mini food processor. I am OBSESSED. I made meatballs one night, lots of sauces, dressing, coconut milk concoctions. Oh guys, this thing is sweet haha. I recommend a food processor to all. I originally bought it because grass-fed meat is much cheaper to buy in bulk and weirdo cuts of big ass chunks of meat. So if I have a HUGE chunk of meat I can cut it, freeze it and use what I want, and now I can ground it!

 kefir ranch dressing

1 cup Kefir
1 T dried parsley

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon seasoned salt

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 T dill weed

~1-2 T Vinegar
~ 1/4 cup oil

Sun Dried Tomato Sauce

Spinach

Feta

Sun dried tomato

Olive  oil

Made Chicken fingers and Fried Gulf Shrimp (had leftover from BEFORE the oil spill, now they are like gold down here!) with an egg, coconut flour, spices and rolled them in coconut flakes and fried them in bacon grease. Turned out FANTASTIC and I made a dip for them too. One was spinach, left over grease, sun dried tomato, Italian spice, fresh basil and the other was a simple Fage (FULL FAT), chopped green onion, garlic/onion.

 So yes, needless to say I am eating like a cow (haha ok pun intended here) lately and getting on with life.

 Again, accept it and the proof is in the pudding!

 I am going to see the new Ashton Kutcher movie tonight….anyone seen it? I don’t even know what it is called, let alone what it’s about! And it’s me, my ‘boy sorta’ and his friend and girl friend. We are doin the normal dinner-and-a-movie night. there’s this new ‘southern style buffet’ on the road by the theater I wanna try out. Buffets are usually easy because you can sorta be picky and check out all the food and then decide what you want. If all else fails, get something you’re comfortable with and move along!

So all-in-all…yes, my belly is bloated, and no I haven’t ‘gone’ in like 2-3 days, but this happens everytime I eat 24/7 and try to gain soo…all is welcome and normal for me. so uncomfortable and umm… pressury down in the ol intestines. They aren’t use to so much food. I don’t think they know whatta do! Anywho… trying to make light of this. I will normalize and not feel like a heffer-whale my whole life (right?!?!?!) so for now this is WAY over due.

